Home > Uncategorized > Research Excitement

Research Excitement

The past few weeks I think I have regained my love for research, possibly because I finally managed to get down to doing actual lab work. My LC-MS method has been validated and the first samples analysed. I am finally on target in this respect. What have I learnt in the past few months, during good times and bad, but mostly bad. The project is yours. You have to work hard (sometimes with blinkers on) to get ahead and cannot depend on anyone else. But a positive outcome is that at the end of the day the satisfaction of seeing the job getting done is increased.

Tomorrow I will be heading off back home for my Christmas holidays a satisfied girl, and looking forward to relaxing, but also getting my head sorted in relation to my research and get a plan down for my project due to all the changes that have resulted lately. I am also excited about getting to work on a piece of new equipment that I hope to be using later on in my project and that has been received at my home Uni.

So thank you for following, and wishing you a Merry Christmas

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 15, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    That’s fantastic – Congratulations.

    I too have encountered difficulties within my research recently, hence my lack of blogging on NN. As you say, sometimes you need to work hard with blinkers on. In my old line of work we used to call this “getting your head down, and digging in deep” – I think it’s a rugby phrase derived from the scrum. Luckily I’ve also begun to experience better times, but am very relieved that it is Christmas soon.

    Merry Christmas to you and your sister. I also hope you have a great 2012 with your PhD research.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

