Home > Research > Lab Work Started

Lab Work Started

Today has been a momentous day. Just prior to leaving for my Christmas holidays in Malta I had ordered my chemicals and had everything ready to start lab work. Today I made my way for my first day back in the lab after my Christmas holidays and after settling back in and getting some minor issues out of the way, I got ready to start my lab work. I managed to obtain the UV spectra for all the chemicals I have received to date. One of the spectra is a bit worrying as it seems to be a bit displaced relative to the others. I might redo it, depending upon the spectra obtained for the remaining 2 chemicals I still have to receive. Once all the UV spectra are in (or perhaps before), I will start working on HPLC method development.

Apart from lab work I am also currently working on a poster for the DCU School of Biotechnology Research Day and on my literature review. So things are going well I guess. However no problems have been envisaged for the work I have achieved to date. HPLC method development is the place where I expect the first hurdles to be reached. Will see how it goes.

  1. January 6, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    I know how you feel having to take all those spectra. I’m working on tracking carbon impurities in a tokamak, and trying to filter through all the data that have random spikes, offsets or are just in general completely different profiles can be quite disheartening. Good luck with your poster!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

