Home > Conferences, Research > School of Biotechnology Research Day

School of Biotechnology Research Day

Last Friday the School of Biotechnology at DCU had its annual Research Day. I did not know what o expect from it, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of research happening within the school. This is even though I could not understand most of it, since I am not doing biotechnology as such, I really liked the presentations I listened to. There was one of the guys in our lab, who presented his work. He is in his final year of his PhD, and it was good to understand a bit more about what he is researching.

There were also a considerable number of poster presentations, over 30 in all. These gave a small insight into all the other research happening in the department. My presentation was included with them, and I am happy with my poster, although I have noted some changes I will make for the next poster I will make.

What I really liked about the Research Day was the presence of a number of suppliers. Apart from the various freebies they gave out, it was good to meet the people I have communicated with via email and also others I did not know. In Malta, we generally buy from around 3 agents. And our link is with the agent not the actual company. Here you need to know all the different companies in order to make an order, so sometimes it is a bit more of a hassle.

A successful research day I must say. Well done to the School of Biotechnology and the Biological Research Society at DCU, who were instrumental in its organisation.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

