Home > Lab Work > HPLC Method Development

HPLC Method Development

I have been working on trying to develop an HPLC method since January. However things have not been really all that successful (I have mainly just been cleaning the column, meaning that I have achieved nothing basically). However last week I decided to change tracks and try something else, where I develop my own method from scratch, rather than using a ready made method. And it seems to work. I tried to separate and detect 4 compounds and managed successfully, although I need more work to separate 2 compounds which have similar retention times. However that should not be such a big problem.

I got my first results yesterday, and I must say I was pleased. I still need to add in a couple of other (around 10 more) compounds hopefully, but I am optimistic. I also got good calibration curves for both the single injections and the mixed injections (although I also got some horrible ones, which I am however attributing to incorrect sample preparation, since it is generally one point which is off rather than a whole set.

I will next get time on the HPLC instrument next Wednesday, since I will be at a conference on Monday and Tuesday, and seeing as we are now 4 people using the same instrument, we need to share time efficiently. However I am now a bit more optimistic about the method I am using, so I am happy enough for now. I wished to have been at this point a couple of weeks ago, but Oh well, here we are now.

Categories: Lab Work Tags: ,
  1. BERNARD
    February 21, 2011 at 7:57 am

    Yippie 😛

  2. J Dharuman
    April 10, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    Hi…I am a scholar who is carrying out HPLC method development to quantify drugs in multi componenet dosage forms. Work is over and I am in the verge of submission.We can share a lot. My experience in HPLC is 10 years.
    Bye

  3. Kate Monks
    April 26, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Maybe you could try to model your separation using one of the chromatography modeling softwares, for example, DryLab (Molnár-Institute). Best regards!

  1. February 27, 2011 at 10:34 am

Leave a Reply

