Home > Lab Work, Research > An unproductive week

An unproductive week

Another PhD week is over, and it can certainly be labelled as unproductive. I submitted the second draft of my literature review to my supervisors last Monday (1st time all except one are seeing it) and that is practically the extent of my work. The problem is that I have been planning on working on the HPLC method development, but I am having big problems with that. Some tubing has been changed in the past couple of weeks, and therefore big problems with pressure are ensuing, resulting in the tubing popping off.

I hope next week I can be a bit more productive and get my HPLC method working. If I can get back to how I was a couple of weeks ago on my method, it should only take a couple of days (2 or 3) to get everything I want done done. But Oh well.

Wish me luck for the coming week.

Categories: Lab Work, Research Tags: , , ,
  1. March 25, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Wow, I’m really impressed that you have a 2nd draft of your Literature Review written. As you know, I too am in the first year of my PhD, and am also blogging my experiences.

    Although I’m no longer a wet-lab scientist, I’ve experienced countless problems in trying to get my tools and experimental procedures working as needed, and I too, have deviated heavily away from my initial plan/schedule. I’ve just about got the tools/programming frameworks up and running, and am now annoyingly a week or two away from having to pause the whole ‘practical’ element and focus on my first year report. I will need to write a 12,000 – 20,000 report by the end of June, which is primarily focussed on the literature. I envy you, in the fact that you have a Literature Review drafted – I’ve read lots of papers over the past 6 months, but haven’t even started writing. I think you are doing great!

  2. March 25, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Hello. Thanks for your comments. I have been following your blog as part of my RSS feed, and enjoy reading your contributions.

    I feel good that I have my 2nd draft of the literature review done. But now that I have done, it feels like the use of equipment is keeping me back. Re writing my literature review: I have a big problem with reading papers and getting the details to stick. So when reading papers (from the beginning), I started to write different documents about different aspects of what I was reading (mostly copy and paste of paragraphs or so from the papers). So that by the end of reading many papers, I have around 4 of 5 different documents (they were not really coherent or anything, but the data was there). Following that I organised what information I had in the different documents to try and make them more coherent, and then looked through the literature I had (which I placed in different folders depending on the general topic) for completeness, and just in case I missed out anything.

    Awaiting comments on my draft, especially from my supervisors who have not read it yet (5 people have my literature review now: 4 supervisors and a post doc…so that is a lot of people to please) 🙂 But we will get there

    Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

