Home > Lab Work, Research > A Validation Week

A Validation Week

Sometimes I think that having a holiday is what you need to guilt you back into working. Last weekend I went home (together with 3 friends from Ireland) for an extended weekend. I really enjoyed showing them the sights of Malta, and also meeting my sister who came over too. However once I got back into the lab I knew that I needed to get down to business. Since the Mass Spec is still not working (still waiting for the parts to arrive), I decided to make use of the HPLC part of the LC-MS instrument. Usually you are not allowed to make use of this front end portion of the instrument on its own. However since the MS part was not working I got permission to use it. Therefore this gave me time to work on my method’s transferability to the actual instrument I will be (hopefully) using.

Before my trip I had ascertained that the method transfers quite well, and I was pleased with the preliminary results. However I knew that as with any method this needs to be validated. Therefore on my return I started working on this section of the process. I have now finished the validation of the HPLC method and I am quite pleased with the overall results. I did have to remove an analyte from the 11 I had started with, since it did not validate in any test. But I am not too concerned about that. After all that is why I started with 11. My supervisors had initially told me not to go for more than 5 analytes, but I had argued that it is better to start with more, and then eliminate later on, depending on the results.

I certainly hope that the parts arrive soon, and that the instrument is fixed very soon. In the meantime, I have figured out what I could do to ‘fill the time’. The parts have been said to be delivered either yesterday (so no) or early next week. I desperately hope that these parts are the actual ones required and that once it is fixed it keeps working. Another girl who is finishing her PhD will probably get onto the instrument first. But as long as it is working there is hope.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

