Home > Research > An LC-MS, samples etc.

An LC-MS, samples etc.

In previous posts I have mentioned numerous times my Mass Spec woes. Unfortunately the LC-MS at DCU seems to have died completely and so I took matters in my own hands and have organised access to another instrument at GMIT (Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology). Today was my first visit to their labs, and I am really excited about the coming weeks when I can go to GMIT to finalise my Mass Spec method. I met with the lecturer in charge and the technician in charge and the technician, patiently explained how things worked and we managed to set up a method.

I will now hopefully visit the labs again next week for a couple of days, so that I would be able to keep working with developing and then validating the method. I am truly grateful to the people at GMIT who have made me feel really welcome and took time out to help me out. The instrument at GMIT is only in use 1 day a week it seems, which is truly a godsend for me, but nevertheless a shame. This is especially so when considering that people at my university have to share the LC-MS between them and it was always in high demand. At least I will make good use of this instrument now I hope.

Today I also received my second set of samples, which I started processing after coming back from Galway so that I could immediately proceed with SPE tomorrow morning. Though it was a busy day, I am truly happy today, because this is what I started a PhD for: hard work and possibilities.

Categories: Research
  1. November 8, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Fantastic! That’s great news. I’m so glad that access to a Mass Spec has finally been gained. Good luck with the Hard Work and Possibilities!

    • November 11, 2011 at 9:13 am

      Thank you. It really seems as if things are somewhat moving on at last.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

